• Blog Stats

    • 1,148,317 hits

Finally – a decent NLC display!

It’s been a rough and frustrating NLC season so far – a combination of nights of bad weather, and nights of good weather but without any sign of NLC, has meant my hunting has been mostly in vain. But last Thursday evening, the 11th, an NLC display worth staying up late for poked its wispy silvery head above the northern horizon, and I managed to get some half-decent photographs.

I actually missed the very start of the display because we were through at the Langdale Hotel, showing some visiting bankers from Manchester the night sky and some of my meteorites. But as we drive home it was clear that something was brewing in the northern part of the sky; the light in that direction just looked… wrong… and through gaps in the trees I caught glimpses of grey-white mistiness on either side of Capella, the “guide star” for NLC. So, once back in Kendal I grabbed my gear and raced up to the castle. Halfway up the hill I saw that there was indeed an NLC display in progress, and as quickly as possible I set up my gear and started taking pictures. Here’s my very first one…

1

After that I just kept snapping away as the display grew in both dimensions and brightness. It didn’t achieve the spectacular appearance of last year’s major storms, but it was still worth watching, and photographing, and I’m very pleased with the  pictures I took. Hopefully it was just a warm up act for much more dramatic storms… we’ll see!

Anyway, here are my best pics…

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

12

13

One Response

  1. […] hätte, große Erwartungen in Indonesien 9 Monate vor der nächsten ToSoFi – und nette NLCs in Nordengland in der Nacht 13./14. Juni. [3:30 […]

Leave a Reply

