• Blog Stats

    • 1,185,309 hits

A new look at 67P…

FM+Jacket_2+White

One of the books that left a big impression on me when I was younger is “Full Moon”, a high quality, large format book of Apollo photographs processed by Michael Light, using a technique that made them look more beautiful and dramatic than ever before.

B010110

It’s a stunningly luscious book…. gorgeous photos printed on high quality art paper… the kind of thing Ansell Adams would have produced if he’d been one of the Apollo astronauts… but it was of such high quality that I couldn’t afford the book when it came out, it was just too expensive for me then, so I waited patiently for a copy to appear in 2nd hand shops, and when I eventually found one I grabbed it off the shelf so fast there was a sonic boom, I swear. I’ve drooled over those images so many times since then that, like the images if Adams, they must have sunk into my consciousness, because when I process my images of comets, planets, whatever I always seem to be attracted to “The Dark Side”, making my images quite high contrast and stark. Some like that, some don’t. Hey, we’re all different.

So, I thought I’d try something different on the latest navcam image released by ESA, and it turned out pretty well, I think. You might like the next two pics… I hope so… you might not…. but here they are…

Comet_on_1_January_2015_NavCam b2

c2b

Too dark? Too moody Too much contrast? Yeah, for some, probably, but it’s just a different take. And in the absence of any new images from the OSIRIS team, I have to make my own pictures. I had hoped… optimistically, I know… that the New Year might bring a change of attitude from the OSIRIS team, that they might open the doors of their fortress just a couple of inches and allow a handful of their precious images to sneak out, but no, same old same old, the team are continuing to show their contempt for their fellow scientists, the media and the public by hanging on to every image they take. Well, if they want to be seen as arrogant, selfish and paranoid, if they want to be seen as unsupportive of ESA and their fellow ROSETTA scientists, if they want to be seen as one of the reasons why it;s hard to justify the vast amounts of money spent on space exploration,  that’s up to them.

In the meantime, thanks to the ESA ROSETTA team for continuing to release the navcam pictures. You’re doing a great job guys! And OSIRIS team, if you’re reading (and I know some of you are), I know it’s a waste of time asking you to reconsider your attitude, so I won’t even bother. But I hope you realise what a deep, deep hole you’re digging yourselves for the future.

One Response

  1. […] hier und hier), die letzten Tage des Venus Express, ein NavCam-Bild vom 3.1., Verarbeitung des Bildes vom 1.1. – und ein trauriger Philae-Cartoon aus Frankreich. [2:00 […]

Leave a Reply

