• Blog Stats

    • 1,224,292 hits

Some thoughts on the new COSMOS

cosmos-spacetime-odyssey-title

So, I finally got around to watching ep1 of the reboot of COSMOS.

First impressions? Well, it looks absolutely *gorgeous*, some really beautiful images and SFX are in there which really take the viewer to the places featured. Personally I don’t mind the “Ship of the Imagination”, it does the job, getting NdGT from A to B in style, even if on the outside it is a bit like something left on the cutting room floor when they were shooting “The Phantom Menace”…

1966707_595111030574543_2012813427_n

…and the inside looks like the bridge of Picard’s first Enterprise…

1972542_594068754012104_974205115_n

Enough about the pretty pictures! What about the important stuff, the science? Well, the science was pretty good too – suitably lightweight for a modern science TV series (let’s not kid ourselves that this new COSMOS is going to be an exhaustive, in depth science journey, ok? It’s a popular science program, for a mass audience, and that’s absolutely fine) and apart from a few “No! That’s wrong!” moments – i.e. the flight through the asteroid belt, which was totally unrealistic, with huge spinning rocks tumbling everywhere, just like the classic scene from “The Empire Strikes Back” – it was comprehensive and detailed enough to be educational and stimulating. This is a series which WILL inspire a new generation, and will send many people, young and old, out into their gardens to look at the sky with new eyes.

Having said that, I *hate* the style of the animation, which really looks cheap and cheapens the overall feel of the show. Lots of discussion on FB and elsewhere re the accuracy of Giordano Bruno’s story, but what struck me was that it looked so clompy and dull it really took something away from the show, but that could just be me, others probably loved it.

My main problem with it – not really a problem, I suppose, more of a personal meh – is the presenter, Neil deGrasee Tyson. I know, I know, he’s a great communicator, he’s beloved amongst US science types, he’s got a voice that a Jedi Knight would kill for but… but… well, there didn’t seem to be any joy about him as he travelled around the universe. He went through the first episode communicating well, saying all the right things, giving the facts and figures, but it felt a bit, well, cold, detached. Carl Sagan’s face shone with the golden light of joy and wonder in the original COSMOS, he came across as someone utterly infatuated with the universe, as bewitched by the beauty of nebulae and galaxies as Romeo was by Juliet. Watching him, originally all those years ago on TV and more recently on the DVDs, I found myself smiling at his child-like crush on the cosmos. That’s what made the original series so poetic for me – I was being led by the hand, across the universe, across time and space, by someone who felt the beauty of the universe as a physical thing, like warm summer rain on his face. Watching Tyson I just didn’t get that. Maybe that just wasn’t possible – how the hell do you follow Carl Sagan – and maybe he’ll warm up in future episodes. Tyson’s personal tributes to and reminiscences of Carl were moving and heartfelt, I thought.

So, criticisms aside, I think the new COSMOS is something worthy of support from everyone “into” astronomy and space exploration. It will, I have no doubt, take its viewers on a fascinating and greatly enjoyable trip, and inspire many of them to look at the sky and learn more about astronomy and the universe around them. And let’s be honest: at a time when the TV channels are shamelessly featuring and groaning under the weight of crap about “Ancient Aliens”, UFOs, and Bigfoot, and Kim Kardashian’s arse is worshipped like a 21st century god, any big budget, high profile astronomy series needs to be supported and promoted as much as possible. We owe that to the kids who want to know what “that star” is called. We owe that to the teachers struggling to teach their classes about evolution and science in the face of Creationist bullshit. We owe that to the amateur astronomer stood in their garden at midnight, peering into their telescope eyepiece at the tiny smudge of a comet that only a few dozen people will ever see. We owe it to Carl, who, had been alive today, would surely be appalled and enraged by the relentless pitchfork- and flaming torch carrying march of the anti-science army across the US and the globe.

Watch COSMOS. Enjoy it for what it is and don’t mourn its lost opportunities and mistakes too much. The alternative is another series about Nibiru, or lost alien civilisations, or angels…

14 Responses

  1. I have watched the Cosmos series as well but to be honest, I got a little bored. I was hoping Neil Degrasse would have put his own spin on it rather than matching Carl Sagan’s to the “T.” But, it is always nice to see programs like this still existing in this crazy looney bin society for the young people, and the “not so young people” like me 😉

  2. By the way…you should consider writing a book, if you have not already done so. 😉 Love to read your style of writing

  3. Rather than wait, we decided simply to go use a few drinks on the bar.
    An LED light bar offers the great benefit of built in,
    user selectable flash patterns which may be easily toggled, selected and locked
    depending upon the emergency. Speed demon led light bar reviews She
    also prepared the flight recorder’s playback mechanism so that they
    could all watch what actually transpired when they landed.

    Extreme Tactical Dynamics is really a one-stop go shopping
    for Mini Lightbar and a lot of other items like Flashlights, Deck Lights, police lights, etc.
    That is why making a clear choice while purchasing the
    light bar is tough unless you happen to be well aware of your
    requirements.

  4. I waas suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sujre whether this
    pos is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.
    You’re amazing! Thanks!

  5. Very quickly this web site will be famous
    among all blogging people, due to it’s fastidious articles or reviews

  6. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that too few people are speaking
    intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something regarding this.

  7. With the latest study from PEW Research stating that 95% of
    teens have access to the Internet, 80% of kids have cell phones and 48% have data plans, providing a safe cyber-space should be a priority for all parents.
    A VPN creates an encrypted connection to a third-party server, and all your Internet traffic is routed through that server.
    To report stolen email addresses at Yahoo, click Yahoo.

  8. Good article. I certainly appreciate this website.
    Thanks!

  9. Hello very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m satisfied to find a lot of useful info right here in the
    post, we’d like work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.

    . . . . .

  10. Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re
    working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a
    honest price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  11. This article will help the internet visitors for building up new weblog or even a
    blog from start to end.

  12. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it
    in two different internet browsers and both show the
    same results.

  13. This post presents clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging, that really how
    to do running a blog.

  14. Wonderful items from you, man. I have be mindful your stuff prior to and you are simply extremely
    magnificent. I actually like what you’ve bought right here, certainly like what you
    are saying and the best wway wherein you assert it.

    You are making it enjoyable and you still tke care of to stay
    it wise. I cant wait tto read far more from you. That is really
    a wonderful site.

Leave a Reply

