• Blog Stats

    • 1,203,326 hits

Sagan essay contest winner announced!

Today’s The Day, the day the winner of the Kepler mission’s “Sagan Day” essay contest is announced – and the winner is, I’m happy to say, my own personal favourite out of all the great entries. It’s by Renee James, and it is a highly personal account of how she was inspired by Carl Sagan to become involved in Outreach and Education.

As Outreach is something I’m very passionate about, and spend a lot of what I laughingly call my “spare time”  doing, this essay really spoke to me, which is why I picked it as my winner. So I’m delighted Renee won the contest overall.

You can read Renee’s winning essay by following this link:

http://kepler.nasa.gov/education/sagan

If you look at that image above you’ll see that the VERY special guest on the site today is none other than Carl Sagan’s own son, so you absolutely have to go read what he has written.

The essay contest has been a tremendoud success, and is being covered and acclaimed internationally now. Much of its success is down to the drive, passion and sheer joy of one man, my very good friend Rui, who is almost a force of nature when it comes speaking up in support of space exploration! So, well done Rui, and everyone involved in the contest and in the celebrations of Carl Sagan’s life. He would have been proud of all of you.

2 Responses

  1. Blushing here…. 😉
    All for the cause my friend, all for the cause…and it just wouldn’t have been the same without you. 🙂

  2. Very cool. Rui did an amazing job with this outreach effort and Stu your essay, as usual, was superb. Congrats to both of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

