• Blog Stats

    • 1,212,455 hits

Looking at the Sun…

…in two very different ways…!

First, here are a couple of pictures I took of the Sun this afternoon, at around 3pm British Summer Time in fact… not high tech at all, just snaps taken with a digital camera held up to the eyepiece of the Coronado PST I am still borrowing…

I was quite pleased with those! πŸ™‚ I particularly like the detail visible in the black and white one…

But yesterday, NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory took some images which were absolutely unbelievable. They showed a huge eruption off the Sun’s surface. I sooo wish I’d caught the start of the eruption, and had been able to follow it all the way through, but what I did see was incredible enough…

Look at that eruption, top right! Here it is close up…

An hour later, it had almost conmpletely gone…

And THAT’S why I love SDO so much! πŸ™‚

One Response

  1. Hello, i found the first image here on Google, and was wondering if you would mind if me and some friends used it with some band logos. We really love the colors and if you want we could give you credit on any albums or merch we produce. Thank you! email me if you can.

Leave a Reply

