• Blog Stats

    • 1,224,815 hits

Some pictures from Spirit…

Spirit has probably dozed off for a while, but we can still enjoy pictures taken by her, and I’ve colourised a couple of the “most recent”* ones here…

I really love the colours on that one… but I’m a little puzzled by the “misty” quality of the ground at the bottom left… I could almost imagine that’s a cloud of dust blowing past Spirit! More likely: these are older images, being cleared out of her memory, and this one shows lighter dust that’s sprayed over the rocks there after one of Spirit’s wheel-whirring extrication attempts…

But this next image is, I think, rather poignant… it might be Spirit’s last self-portrait for a while…

That’s really quite a moving image, I think… Spirit, staring down at her own shadow, being cast by the sinking Sun… one last time? Naaah. She’ll wake up again after her nap, I’m sure of it.

I’ve made a larger version of that previous image, showing the whole of the camera mast…

… but to be honest I don’t like it as much as the previous version that just shows the lower part of the mast; I think the colours are better, and it’s just a more thought-provoking image.

* Note: by “most recent” I mean that these are the most recent to appear on Exploratorium, the website I get my raw images from. I’m not saying they were TAKEN recently. In fact, the “self portrait” looks like it was taken way back in June 2009…. still a v pretty pic tho! 🙂

Will we get any more images from Spirit? We’ll have to wait and see…

2 Responses

  1. The mist is the live shot of the final dust devil. Her panels are shiny and clean, and will power her up for wakeup in spring! 🙂

  2. Fake fake fake the ombre… verry mal faite. :/

Leave a Reply

